IBAsymbol.gif (2564 bytes)

Technical Committee

        TWRAsymbol.jpg (9016 bytes)

The Tennessee IBA Technical Committee is currently composed of eight members located across the state. Each has extensive knowledge within the field of ornithology. Each member votes on a site to approve, disapprove, or for further study. A nominated IBA site is approved with six positive votes (75% of the TC). Prior to April 1, 2006, the TC was composed of seven members. Then, five positive votes (75% of the TC) were needed to approve a site. 

David Aborn (2003-present)
Dept. of Biological and Environmental Sciences
University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
Chattanooga, TN 37403-2598
423-425-5236
David-Aborn@utc.edu

David A. Buehler (2003-present)
Professor - Wildlife Science
Department of Forestry, Wildlife, and Fisheries
University of Tennessee
Knoxville, TN 37996-4563
(865) 974-8845 (office)
(865) 974-4714 (fax)
dbuehler@utk.edu

Kevin Calhoon (December 2005-present)
kac@tennis.org

Rick Knight (2003-present)
804 North Hills Road
Johnson City, TN 37604
423-282-5297
rknight8@earthlink.net

Michael Roedel (2003-November 2005)
Former State Ornithologist
Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency

Scott Somershoe (April 2006-present)
State Ornithologist
Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency
PO Box 40747
Nashville, TN 37204
Scott.Somershoe@state.tn.us
615-781-6653 (o)
601-868-0101 (cell)
615-781-6654 (fax)

Stephan J. Schoech (2003-present)
Assistant Professor
Chair, Graduate Studies Committee
Department of Biology
University of Memphis
Ellington Hall
Memphis, TN 38152
sschoech@memphis.edu
Department of Biology Web Page: http://biology.memphis.edu/
Personal Web Page: http://biology.memphis.edu/sschoech.html
Telephone: 901-678-2327 (office)
901-678-2661 (lab)
Facsimile: 901-678-4746

Stephen J. Stedman (2003-present)
Professor
Department of English
Tennessee Tech University
Cookeville, TN 38505
931-372-3763
sstedman@tntech.edu
http://iweb.tntech.edu/sstedman/Index.htm

Melinda Welton (2003-present)
5421 Old Harding Road
Franklin, TN 37064
615-799-8095 (home)
615-799-2220 (fax)
weltonmj@earthlink.net



This page was last updated on 02/18/06.